Get Immediate Medical Treatment with No Out-Of-Pocket Expenses
Stanislaus County Personal Injury Lawyer
Seeking Compensation for the Wrongfully Injured
Accidents can have immediate, latent, short-term, and long-term consequences. Injuries can leave you unable to work, participate in favorite activities, help with household chores. You may need physical therapy, occupational therapy, surgery, medications, and more.
At The Law Offices of Caroline J. Nasseri, we aggressively represent our Stanislaus County personal injury clients, fighting for the compensation they deserve. Our goal is to hold the responsible party fully accountable for the results of an accident.
Entitled to Compensation Despite Being Partly Responsible
California is one of about a dozen states that follow pure comparative negligence laws. Anyone injured due to someone else’s negligence can sue for compensation even if they are partly responsible. Most states follow modified comparative laws that bar an injured person from collecting damages if they are 50% or more responsible. There is no such threshold in the Golden State. Even if you are determined to be 80% responsible for the accident, you can collect 20% of the available damages.
The types of potential damages fall into two categories: compensatory and punitive.
Compensatory damages can be economic (specific dollar amount assigned) and non-economic:
- Lost Wages
- Hospital Bills
- Prescription Costs
- Occupational Therapy Bills
- Physical Therapy Bills
- Future Medical Bills
- Property Damage
- Pain and Suffering
- Loss of Consortium
- Emotional Distress
Punitive damages are meant to punish the responsible party and discourage such behavior from happening again. Such awards are meant to be severe. Negligence alone won’t be eligible for punitive awards. The responsible party must have acted with specific malicious or reckless behavior.
Except for medical malpractice, California does not place maximum caps on awards.
Wide-Ranging Personal Injury Representation
Attorney Nasseri provides hard-hitting legal counsel for injuries incurred under a variety of circumstances.
Our personal injury practice represents residents of Stanislaus County in the following cases:
In our 35 years of experience, we have won multiple million-dollar settlements and verdicts.
Limited Time to File a Personal Injury Lawsuit
California’s Code of Civil Procedure outlines when certain specific civil actions can be taken. Most personal injury lawsuits must be filed within two years of the date of the accident.
There are times when the results of an accident aren’t immediately known. In these cases, the lawsuit must be filed within one year of the injury’s discovery.
If you want to sue a governmental entity, the first step is to file an administrative claim within six months of the injury. They have 45 days to respond. If they deny your claim, you only have six months from the date of the accident to file a lawsuit. If they don’t respond, then you have two years from the date of the injury to file.
Stanislaus County Residents Pay Nothing Upfront
We understand that accidents have an immediate financial impact on the injured and their families. Paying for a retainer fee is also not in most people’s budgets. For this reason, our clients do not pay anything for our services unless we help them collect an award. Only then are we paid a fair percentage of any settlement winnings.
A Few Words from Our Clients
Caroline Nasseri kept me well-informed about my case & was very professional.Anthony H.
I would like to say thank you, Caroline, for your hard diligent service you & your team provided.David G.
Attorney Caroline Nasseri was informative, caring, respectful of my needs.Kyla J.